Unpublish Media from a MediaSpace Channel


Overview

Within MediaSpace, you can elect to publish a piece of media to a channel, and you can do that from several locations. Similarly, you can remove media from a channel (or "unpublish" it) in several ways. 

These instructions are only applicable in MediaSpace (not Canvas), and apply to all Kaltura users (instructors, students, and staff with active directory credentials), since any user can create a channel and publish material to it.

Critical Concepts

Things to Keep in Mind

Known Issues

Steps to Take

There are three ways to unpublish media from channels in MediaSpace:

  1. Unpublish from "My Media"
  2. Unpublish from the Player Page
  3. Unpublish from the Edit Page

Option 1: Unpublish from "My Media"

You're able to unpublish individual pieces of media when looking at the main list of your entries in "My Media." 

  1. A screenshot of the steps described in number three: the kebab (circled), "publish status" (circled), and "change publish locations" (circled).If you're not already logged into MediaSpace:
    1. Go to https://mediaspace.ucsd.edu.
    2. Click the profile icon at the top right of the page and select Login.
    3. Enter your active directory credentials.
  2. Click the profile icon again and select My Media.
  3. Find the media entry in question, click the kebab (three dots) in its row, then Publish status, and lastly Change publish locations.
  4. Uncheck the box of the channel(s) from which you want to unpublish the media entry.
  5. Click Save changes

Note that if you want to unpublish the entry from ALL channels, instead of clicking "Change publish locations" in step 4 above, instead select Private

Option 2: Unpublish from the Player Page

You can also unpublish a video from the page where you can watch the video, also known as the "player page." You'd get here if you found the video in your list in "My Media" and then clicked on it, or by clicking on it in a channel.

  1. If you're not already logged into MediaSpace:
    1. Go to https://mediaspace.ucsd.edu.
    2. Click the profile icon at the top right of the page and select Login.
    3. Enter your active directory credentials.
  2. Click the profile icon again and select My Media.
  3. Click on the title or thumbnail of the video you want to unpublish.
  4. Below the video, click the kebab (three dots), select Publish status, then Change publish locations.
  5. Uncheck the box of the channel(s) from which you want to unpublish the media entry. 
  6. Click Save changes

Note that if you want to unpublish the entry from ALL channels, instead of clicking "Change publish locations" in step 4 above, instead select Private

Option 3: Unpublish from the Edit Page

In addition to being able to perform a variety of edits on your video on the "edit page," you can also control the video's publication status. 

  1. If you're not already logged into MediaSpace:
    1. Go to https://mediaspace.ucsd.edu.
    2. Click the profile icon at the top right of the page and select Login.
    3. Enter your active directory credentials.
  2. Click the profile icon again and select My Media.
  3. Find the video you'd like to unpublish, click the kebab (three dots) on its row, and select Edit
  4. Under the video preview, click the Publish tab.
  5. After your list of channels populates below the radio buttons, uncheck the box(es) next to the appropriate channel(s).
  6. Click Save.

Note that if you want to unpublish the entry from ALL channels, click the Private radio button after step 4.

If you still have questions or need additional assistance, feel free to contact us at kaltura@ucsd.edu.