Overview
If you want to send a link to your Kaltura media entry to anyone - whether or not they have UCSD Active Directory credentials - you can send them an "unlisted link." Like YouTube, this means that anyone with the URL can view the entry but they can't come to MediaSpace, browse, and find it on their own.
Unlisted links can only be created in MediaSpace and any Kaltura user at UC San Diego can create an unlisted link.
Critical Concepts
Things to Keep in Mind
- Making a video unlisted will unpublish it from any channels in MediaSpace. So that means you can't make a video available via an unlisted link AND have it reside within a channel. If you need to keep an entry within a channel and make it unlisted, consider duplicating the entry and making the new entry the unlisted entry.
- Making a video unlisted won't affect the video's publication status in Canvas. If you're using the video in Canvas too, making it unlisted within MediaSpace WON'T unpublish it from any Media Galleries in Canvas. It only unpublishes it from channels in MediaSpace.
- Remember that once it's unlisted, the link can be sent to anyone. So in some ways, consider a video with an unlisted link to be basically public.
Steps to Take
If you're interested in creating an unlisted link to a video, then you need to perform two high-level actions:
Step 1: Set the Entry's Publication Status to "Unlisted"
If you're not already logged into MediaSpace:
- Go to https://mediaspace.ucsd.edu.
- Click the profile icon at the top right of the page and select Login.
- Enter your Active Directory credentials.
- Click the profile icon again and select My Media.
- Find the entry in question and click on the thumbnail or title.
- Under the video, click the kebab (three dots), then Publish Status, then Unlisted.
- Click Save in the window that appears.
Now the entry has an "unlisted" publication status. Next you just have to grab the URL.
Step 2: Get the Link to the Entry's Page
Now you need to grab the link to the media entry's page. Assuming you're still on the same media page from the first set of instructions above:
- Click Share below the video.
- Next to the "Link to media page" field, click Copy to copy the link to your computer's clipboard.
- Send the copied link to whomever you like.
Note that although you can set a start time for the video link you send, users can still watch the part before that start time if they want to.